Seven Inducted Into Mason Men's Soccer Hall of Fame

  • print
  • email
  • font +
  • font -
  • rss

Seven were inducted to George Mason Men's Soccer Hall of Fame this past weekend.
Seven were inducted to George Mason Men's Soccer Hall of Fame this past weekend.

May 1, 2006

Fairfax, Va.--Six former athletes and one coaching legend were all inducted into the newly formed George Mason Men's Soccer Hall of Fame this past weekend as announced by Mason head coach, Greg Andrulis. All seven were honored, along with award winners from the 2005 squad, at the annual soccer banquet on April 29 on the campus of George Mason.

Among the inductees are former head coach, Gordon Bradley (1985-2000), Mike Reynolds (1982-85), Fred Thompson (1982-85), Tamir Linhart (1991-93), Eduardo Lima (1996-2000), Denis Hamlett (1989-91) and Martin Dunphy (1986-89).

Gordon Bradley Gordon Bradley served as Mason's head men's soccer coach for 16 years (1985-2000) and guided the Patriots to an overall record of 183-113-35 (.606), which still stands as the best winning percentage in Mason's history. Bradley was at the helm when Mason made its six NCAA appearances, with the last in 1996. The Patriots moved on to the second round three times, including in 1996 when they upset Virginia, 1-0, in Charlottesville. Bradley tallied his 100th win against American on Oct. 24, 1992 and won his 150th against Loyola on Sept. 24, 1997.

Bradley played a key role in the planning and development of Major League Soccer and he served as a color commentator on D.C. United's local television broadcasts. Three of his players advanced to the professional ranks in Dennis Hamlett, Rich Kotschau and Joseph Ado all of whom competed in the MLS.

Bradley also had a large role in the success the Washington venue enjoyed during World Cup USA 1994. He helped to influence the Mexican national team to use Mason as its main training site, and he also judged the performance of teams playing at RFK Stadium during the first and second rounds for USA Today. He continued to help bring internationally renowned teams to train at George Mason Stadium while preparing for contests against the U.S. National Team in Washington.

In June 1996, Bradley was inducted into the National Soccer Hall of Fame.

Mike Reynolds (1982-85) Mike Reynolds was a four-year starter for Mason, which compiled a 64-15-5 record during his career. Mike earned All-American honors in both his junior and senior years, along with being named to the All-South Atlantic Region squad. In addition, Reynolds was named to the All-ECAC South team junior year and went on to earn All-CAA honors in 1985. He set a school record in career assists with 18, which was later broken. Mike's collegiate career was capped by his being selected to play in the prestigious Senior Bowl by the Intercollegiate Soccer Association of America Reynolds and was then drafted by the Baltimore Blast of the MLS. Reynolds life was cut short in 1991 after suffering a stroke.

Fred Thompson (1982-85) Fred Thompson played four years with the Patriots and ended his career with 98 points and 40 goals, which rank fourth and fifth in Mason's record books, respectively. Thompson was a two-time All-South Atlantic Region honoree, he earned All-ECAC South honors his junior year and was named to the All-CAA squad in 1985. Thompson played professionally for eight years as a defender for the Baltimore Blast of the MISL, Tacoma Stars of the MSL, and Sacramento Knights of the CISL. Thompson was the starting sweeper for the Jamaica National Team from 1988-90. Currently, Thompson is heading into his third year as the men's head coach at Bowling Green.

Tamir Linhart (1991-93) Tamir Linhart, who became just the fifth player in Mason's history to be named an NSCAA All-American twice, played just three years with the Patriots. Linhart earned All-CAA, All-Virginia and all-South Atlantic Region first team honors in 1992, was also named league player and received All-CAA and All-Virginia First Team nods senior season. The Israel native, led the conference in scoring for two-straight seasons and currently stands second in Mason's record books with 49 goals, third with 114 points and sixth with 156 shots.

Eduardo Lima (1996-00) Eduardo Lima completed his four-year career at Mason as one of the greatest players to ever wear the Green & Gold. Lima was a three-time All-CAA First Team honoree (1997, '98 & 2000) and became the first Patriot to earn All-Virginia First Team honors three times. On the Patriot all-time lists, Lima still ranks first with 119 points and 251 shots, tied for first with 23 assists and third with 48 goals. In his final season, Lima netted a goal in seven-straight games, which tied the school record. Lima was also the first Patriot to have more than 30 goals and 20 assists in a career.

Denis Hamlett (1989-91) Denis Hamlett was a three-year starter for Mason in the defensive backfield from 1989-91. Hamlett earned All-CAA honors twice during his career, first as a freshman at UNCW and then at Mason his senior campaign. In addition, Hamlett was an All-South Atlantic Region pick in 1991. During the 1989 and 1990 seasons, the Patriots permitted only 39 goals in 46 games for an average of only 0.85 goals per game, which helped lead to a combined 25-13-6 record and an invitation to the NCAA Tournament both seasons.

Martin Dunphy (1986-89) Martin Dunphy played four years for the Patriots under head coach Gordon Bradley. In his first three years, Dunphy allowed only 47 goals in 57 games for a 0.82 GAA and also accumulated 18 shutouts. A two-time All-CAA selection, Dunphy was an All-American nominee in 1988.

Awards will now be given to members of the current squad at the close of each season, which will forever be named after each one of the inductees, as well as John O'Hara (2001-04). This year's winners are listed below.

In addition, Andrulis introduced the tri-captains for the 2006 squad, which were voted on by the current team, and they are Jacob Weitz (Lovettsville, Va.), Brian Barry-Austin (South Orange, N.J.) and Jonathan Borrajo (Clifton, N.J.).

2006 Mason Men's Soccer Award Winners
Gordon Bradley Coaches Award	Damian O'Rourke
Mike Reynolds Alumni Award	Damian O'Rourke
Fred Thompson Most Valuable Player Award	Anthony Noreiga
Tamir Linhart Golden Boot Award	Teba McKnight
Eduardo Lima Offensive Player of the Year Award	Teba McKnight
Denis Hamlett Defensive Player of the Year Award	Anthony Noreiga
Martin Dunphy Goalkeeper of the Year Award	Eric Barnes
John O'Hara Newcomer of the Year Award	Jonathan Borrajo



Men's Soccer Media Guide
Patriot Club